How to Tie a Snood with a Scarf

Let’s chat about snoods. I realize some of you may find the title of this post crazily repetitive, particularly if you hail from across the pond. But in the 40s sense of the word, a snood is a “a netlike hat or part of a hat or fabric that holds or covers the back of a woman’s hair.” It’s a casual alternative to pinning your hair up, as Ann Sheridan so beautifully demonstrates above. I’m fond of wearing snoods because they lend a 40s look in a quick, easy fashion and are great for days when your hair decides to strike. In my world, there are two types of snoods: special crocheted versions and scarves I tie myself. Today, I’d like to share the instructions for tying a regular 24″ square scarf into a snood.

You will need:

  • a square scarf that is at least large enough to tie completely around your head – something in the 24″ square range. If you can wear it as a babushka, it will work for this. Triangular scarves work just fine, too. In fact, the two lace snoods seen in my photos are actually triangles. Any material will work, but scarves with a sheer quality are more authentically snood-ish.
  • hair pins (I use bobby pins from Sally’s that match my hair color)

Step 1

Prepare your hair. Style the front with large pincurls, a little rabbit ridge or just pin it back. If you have bangs, you are all set. The back of your hair need not be brushed or straightened. In fact, this is a great style to tame freshly pincurled hair for a few hours.

Step 2

Fold your scarf diagonally, from corner to corner, creating a large triangle. Flip your hair forward while bending at the waist, so your hair falls over the top of your head. Tie the scarf around your head with the square knot just touching your forehead (so it will be over your front styled hair for now). Leave the scarf ends loose.

Step 3

Adjust the point of the scarf to become a pocket for your hair, tucking in loose pieces. Roll up the scarf from the point, corralling your back hair in the pocket created. Secure the top of the pocket with hairpins.

Step 4

Move the top knot behind your front hair, carefully untying it and retying it if necessary. To finish, take one of the loose scarf ends and tuck it into the side it falls closest to, securing with pins. Repeat for the other loose end. Tuck any flyaways and secure with more pins as needed.

If you are confused, have a look at my little gif:

If you have any questions or if something is unclear, do be sure and speak up! I’m happy to help. And keep an eye out for my next snoody post – next week I’ll be writing about crocheted snoods – how to make and wear them!

7 Comments

Filed under Fashion Backward, How to

7 responses to “How to Tie a Snood with a Scarf

  1. Oh hey, that’s cool! :D Wouldn’t work on me, I don’t think, especially since my hair is nearly to my waist now… but it’s cute! :D

  2. Wow, Anne sure is rocking that snood! One of my vague new year’s resolutions is to do more with my hair. I will try it! Jenny from Silver Screen Suppers xx

  3. Thanks, Bekah! Hmm, I bet a crocheted snood would be better for you. Maybe one that was deliberately designed to hold more hair than the others. I’ll have a think about that! :D

  4. Jenny – gosh, isn’t she? Ann is one of my main 40’s hair inspiration ladies. I’m excited to hear about your results! Do let me know how it works for you. :D

  5. Oh, I’m going to have to try this! My hair is very straight and fine, so I’m trying to figure out ways to do it up that make it look fuller than it really is. I have some silk and sheer scarves, but they tend to slip off my hair when I try to tie them around my head. Any suggestions for that?

  6. Hi Elizabeth! I’m so happy to have inspired you to give snoods a whirl! I know just what you mean about silk scarves slipping off your hair. Have you ever tried a chiffon scarf? Chiffon has a very subtle texture that allows it to hold better, but it’s still smooth and silky to the touch. I have two that I bought from The Vermont Country Store and they work quite well for snoods. You can also find vintage chiffon scarves on Etsy. With the vintage ones, you just need to be careful not to make holes with the hairpins as you attach the scarf to your hair. The green scarf in my photos above is a vintage chiffon scarf.

    The other option would be large vintage handkerchiefs, which are made from cotton or chiffon and would not have that really smooth finish.

    I hope that helps! Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

    Casey

  7. Pingback: Snood Perfection for the Unconvinced | Noir Girl

Share your thoughts