The Huzzah Squad

Calling all classic film fans: we have a new project that needs your support! As fans of films from the 30s-60s, we have the bittersweet duty of recalling fond memories when the legends of the screen pass away. It deeply saddens all of us, serving as a reminder of the precious stars remaining with us. It’s time we honored these incredible talents before they leave us.

*cue 60′s adventure music* Announcing, The Huzzah Squad!

Born out of a conversation I had with Terry of A Shroud of Thoughts, The Huzzah Squad will be our way to show appreciation to the stars right now. The plan is to form a circle of bloggers to take turns writing daily or weekly posts in tribute to a star who is still with us. If we have enough participants, each blogger will only be writing one post every month. We can band together to communicate our sincere appreciation for the amazing library of classic films we enjoy today.

So, any takers? Anybody interested in giving back a little of the happiness we receive from watching classic films? If so, drop me a line in the comments by February 11, 2011. Let’s show the fantastic actors and actresses of yesteryear how much they truly mean to us!

P.S. – please feel free to jump in even if you don’t have a blog space of your own. I’ll be happy to host guest posts for anyone interested.

13 Comments

Filed under Film Bloggers, Huzzah Squad

13 responses to “The Huzzah Squad

  1. yesssssssssssssssss. I am so doing this! What a lovely idea!

  2. addie

    How do we start?

  3. Well, you know I’m in! Thanks for posting it, Casey!

  4. Audrey

    I’ll give it a go, not sure exactly what it entails, though. (Great idea, by the way!!!)

  5. addie

    NoirGirl,
    Are you going to be the coordinator or would this be a group thing or am I jumping ahead?

    I had an OTR podcast for a long time, I could start it again and coordinate it with each star featured.

  6. Millie, Addie, Mercurie & Audrey – Thanks for participating!

    Addie – First we’d need to distribute this list or a similar one to our team members and decide who everyone will write about. We could either just publish each of our posts to our own blogs, or we could start a new blog just for this. For now, I think each of us self posting is best. I’m the coordinator for now, but I do intend it to be a group project where each person can contribute. I simply adore the idea of an accompanying podcast! That would be fantastic! Thank you so much for your enthusiasm, Addie. If you think of anything else, feel free to let me know. :D

  7. Oooh yes please. I started doing a series at Movietone along the same lines called Living History because it struck me that time after time the first time I knew a star had still been alive was when I read the obituary. Obituaries are fine, but it’s better to hand back a bit of love when they still might see it.
    Count me in please!

  8. Count me in too! A lovely idea – Jenny from Silver Screen Suppers x

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Huzzah Squad | Noir Girl -- Topsy.com

  10. KC

    Sounds like fun. I’d love to join you.

  11. addie

    40s girl in a modern world,
    I am trying to put together a player on my wordpress page.
    I am using one from Player.com.
    So far it is a little too big for the page, but it can be made smaller or they used to have that feature, it is not an obvious fix, so far and Player.com does not allow me to upload shows, but they have a lot listed themselves and I can post through links.
    Just so you know.
    If you have suggestions or if I am doing something wrong, not what you have in mind, etc, you just let me know!
    Take it easy B)

    addie

  12. Pingback: Huzzah Squad: The Plan | Noir Girl

  13. Niamhy is so up for this! ;-P Casey, you are BRILLIANT!

Share your thoughts

