My Art: Jackie’s Catalog

For the final project in my Layout and Design Class, we had to design a 16 page catalog.  We could choose any products we wanted to showcase, but preferably something we had easy access to.  I wanted to pick items that had personal meaning for me, but would be easy to get images from.  I decided on the collection of classic children’s books we have from when me and my brother were little.  It was a fantastic opportunity to revisit childhood memories and use some of the books I love so much for a project.  I am beaming with pride about this project now, because it is currently on display in my school’s art gallery in the Juried Student Show.  I entered three pieces and two were accepted into the show (you’ll see the other piece tomorrow).  It’s a great honor to get pieces accepted into the show, because the judging is tough.  Well, have a look and see if you agree with the judges.

From the beginning, I wanted to use the jacks as the connective element to tie all the pages together.  I also wanted to integrate it into the logo as the dots for the letters.  I was trying to come up with a catchy name until I finally realized how neat it would be to just call the catalog Jackie’s. The jacks in the logo were originally yellow (to match the jacks inside) but it was too hard to read from a distance. So, with some tweaking the logo became what you see now. I think it’s one of the best logos I’ve made so far.

Just one last shot to prove it really is in the show.  I gave them copies of all the spreads, but the Corduroy one is the only one they chose to display.

8 Comments

Filed under My Art, School

8 responses to “My Art: Jackie’s Catalog

  1. I copyedit some catalog pages for my company’s children’s books (meaning I’ve seen a lot of catalogs in my day) and I have to say, yours is a swell looking specimen! I love how you incorportated the theme of the jacks. It really makes the whole thing very cohesive.

  2. You did a great job – what a fun, lively design! Perfect for children’s books. I see some of my favorites in there too!

  3. Wow, this is fantastic Casey! You’re so talented!!!!!
    (I love seeing Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs in there, too — one of my favorite childrens books!)

  4. Wow, thanks Raquelle! That really means a lot to me! Cohesiveness is exactly what I was shooting for with the jacks. I wanted the artwork of the books to be the main focus (hence the white background), but then I needed something to tie all the pages together. I hope you noticed how my catalog is ready for mailing by USPS standards – the fold is at the bottom when viewing the back. It makes for easy traveling through USPS sorting systems. ;)

    Hi Tikimama – Thank you very much! I think of all of them, Mary Alice Operator Number Nine is my ultimate favorite. My mom used to read it to me and put on a different voice for each character who fills in for Mary Alice. I just loved it, and it still has sweet memories for me. :)

    Oh, thanks very much Kate! I consider your comments a high compliment, being such a talented person yourself. :) I’m so glad you liked Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, too! I was completely fascinated by it when I was little. I always wished food really could rain down from the sky. :)

  5. Beautiful work, Casey!

  6. I love this – this brought back memories, as many of the books that graced the shelves of my childhood bookcase were on there – Lyle the Crocodile, Harry the Dirty Dog, and Courduroy. YAY. And it looks spectacular.

  7. Hi Kerry! Thanks for commenting! Isn’t it amazing how children’s books can bring people together? These books really made an impression on so many people. It makes me so happy to get the comments from others who love them as much as I do. Thanks so much for the compliment! :)
    -ck

Share your thoughts

