Advance 2973: Part 1

Hello, my dears!  Here’s my sewing post, as promised.  I’ve had a dreadful weekend trying to get someone to come and fix my computer.  It decided to delete a critical system file in the wee hours of Saturday morning, and then refused to start.  I finally got it fixed yesterday, by a terribly nice repair agent and am now almost back to normal.  I’m really hoping it’s going to be okay now.

Anyway, on to the sewing!

My next project is going to be the short sleeved version of Advance 2973.  You may remember when I showed it to you ages ago. I have some fabulous bright yellow sateen that will do quite nicely for it.  I have several accent ideas that I’d like to have your opinions on.

 

First, I was thinking of cutting the entire dress buttons, collar, belt and all in the bright yellow sateen.  Simple, but classic and striking.

Next, I thought of cutting the collar and belt in black with black top stitching.  Maybe with black covered buttons?  Or, if I was feeling very daring, I could top stitch in yellow on the black accents

Or, cutting the collar and belt in white sateen and then top stitching in matching yellow.  This option would have either white sateen covered buttons or matching yellow.

I’m trying to push myself out of my box of restricting myself to safe color choices on my clothes.  I want to try to mix it up a little, but I want the final combo to be completely successful.  So, I’d be willing to sacrifice adventurism for the guaranteed success of the design.

So, what do you think?  Please let me know, I really am quite torn between all the ideas.

For my next post about this dress, I’m going to try a little something new.  I’d like to do a “How to decipher a pattern” post for all the newbie sewers out there.  Lise asked me if I could, since she desperately wants to learn to sew, but has no idea where to start.  It is an overwhelming project to take on, especially if you have never sewed before.  Would you be interested in something like that?

Hope you had a great weekend!

20 Comments

Filed under Fashion Backward, Sewing

20 responses to “Advance 2973: Part 1

  1. I like the idea of contrasting buttons, collar, and belt, but I’m not sure if white or black will work. I tend to associate yellow and black with bees, which keeps me away from the combination, but I like the dark contrast better than the light. What about rust instead of black?

  2. Ooh – rust! That is an interesting idea! Thanks for the input Aimee! It’s much appreciated… :)
    -ck

  3. You know, I like the yellow and black. I don’t like white on collars, etc., b/c of rub-grime. I have this exact pattern, too. Do you have a copy of Wade Laboissoniere’s Blueprints of Fashion, Home Sewing Patterns of the 1940′s? This is a wonderful resource, look at the color combos. I did, there is some yellow, not as much as blues, reds, black, but alot if with black or even a few with navy. A few with white, too. Please post your progress…

  4. As a newbie sewer too, I can use all the help I can get.

    Yellow sateen dress? Fantastic.

  5. Myra – I like yellow and black, too. The yellow sateen that I have is a darker, richer yellow and I’m pretty sure it can hold up to black. Yellow and black always reminds me of Eve Arden and a particular suit she wears in Cover Girl (I think). She did not look like a bumble bee at all… :)

    I see your point about the white, it will have a tendency to get soiled quickly. :(

    Gosh, I wish I had a copy of that fabulous book! I have to look it up to find out more about it, something which I don’t have the time for right now. If I can find a reasonably priced copy, I’ll probably get it. You’ve totally sold me. :D

    Raquelle – I’m so glad you’re up for the how-to’s! Isn’t yellow wonderful? It’s one of my favorite colors.

  6. Eileen

    I like the yellow and black too. It does make me think of bees but I like bees so it works!

  7. Hi Casey! I certainly would be interested! Thank you so much for considering my suggestion. As you said, it is overwhelming, but I have to start somewhere and I need all the help I can get.

    Over to your project. The pattern is a great choice because I think the dress is gorgeous and the style is very flattering to most women. Personally, my heart beats a little extra for the plain one, I must admit. With small adjustions you could make it more “interesting”, for example by changing the buttons into another colour or change the shape.

    If I must choose between the yellow and black or the yellow and white, I would probably go for the last one. I just get the “vintage-feeling” when I look at it, more than it does with the other. The black and yellow combo makes me think of bees, as other readers have mentioned.

    Thank you so much for the satchet by the way. It was lovely!

    Lise

  8. So many options for this lovely dress! If I were making it up, I’d go for the all-yellow. That yellow & black combination is very stylish. However the all-yellow styling would allow you to use many colors of accessories along with it–not just black to time in the yellow-black colorway. The white & yellow might not be as visually effective, I don’t think…much as I like white in general and how it goes with most. Aimee’s idea of brown or rust is a great one–a nice “compromise” maybe if you need a splash of color? :o) Can’t wait to see what you decide on, and the finished dress! Happy weekend, Casey ((HUGS))

  9. Eileen – Thanks for your input! That makes 2 votes for yellow/black. :)

    Lise – The how-to post is in the works, and I’m hoping to have some progress to show soon. :) I really like the idea of novelty buttons. I was going to go for covered buttons in the same yellow sateen, but if I could find some interesting matching vintage buttons, that may be better. Truth told, I’m partial to the plain yellow one, too. It’s going to require more think time to make a final decision. :) Thanks so much for your comment!

    Tracy – Thanks for your input! You are so right about the accessory options. That is my main reason for not wanting to combine more than one color. The more colors I go for, the less it will match my other pieces. So, that’s 2 votes for plain yellow. It’s looking like a tie!

  10. Jen

    Ya, so glad you are almost back to normal, i hate it when machines break, especially in the middle of doing something!! I love the thought of you sashaying around in a beautiful yellow dress – if you are easing youself into wearing more daring things than what you are used too, i say keep it simple, stick with one colour and see how you go. You can always make another with different fabrics later on :) Goodluck, i want to see you in this dress once you have finished!!

  11. I love the yellow and black, and I love the idea of yellow topstitching. Such a 40s combination! I think they sometimes used yellow and Navy blue together too, I think they pretty much put anything with anything though… just don’t be scared of colour! :D

    I really want to be a sewer – I even went on a course but as I have literally nowhere to sit and sew at home (no dining table and chair set up) I hve never put what I leabred into practice.

  12. Jen – I’m glad, too! Machines really are annoying. I’m leaning very much towards the plain bright yellow for the dress. You’re so right, I can just make another with new fabrics later! Hmm… I’m going to have to have quite a think on the idea of putting my photo on the internet. I take it into consideration, anyway! :) Thanks for your ideas!

    Fleur – Hi! Thanks so much for commenting! The yellow contrast topstiching one of my favorite elements of these ideas. I know what you mean about the yellow/navy combo – I think I’ve seen it in some of those glorious techinicolor films from the 40′s. I’m glad you brought it up, because I hadn’t thought of it! I can truly sympathize with your space dilemma. That is one of the drawbacks to sewing: the amount of space needed to work on a project. I usually cut my patterns and fabric out on the floor, and then set my sewing machine up on my desk. It’s a little cramped, but it works! :)

  13. This is a very promising project! I must ask if you are tall first; if you are, it’s okay to go with the contrasts ; if not, making it all in yellow (at least the waist should be yellow too; it’s ok to use contrast buttons and collar)will create the illusion of tall and slim, so I’d pick the first option in this case.

  14. Hi Tany! Thanks for your encouragement! I’m 5 ft, 6.5 inches tall, which is average, I guess. In my family, I’m the shrimp, but with my friends I’m one of the tallest girls out of the bunch. :) You bring up a good point which I hadn’t considered. I’m sold on the all yellow version now too, mainly because I want to be able to wear it with different colored accessories and using the contrasting fabric will limit that.

    I’m hoping to get started on it this week – I’m taking my first final of the week tomorrow morning, and then it’s all downhill cruising. :) Summer, here I come!

  15. I have just bought a yellow and black 40s button up dress so I vote for the yellow and black. I need to re-do the buttonholes on my dress, which at the moment are yellow and frayed, and am thinking of turning them into black bound buttonholes. I wasn’t sure if that would look good but reading your blog has swayed me to the contrast buttonholes.

  16. Pingback: Advance 2973: Part 2 – Prepare the Pattern « Noir Girl

  17. Definitely the yellow and black. A better contrast that will stand out in a crowd.

  18. Thanks for the input, theduckthief! (I always feel so funny addressing people as their screen name. :)) This dress sure will stand out in the crowd… I think it’ll be able to be seen from a good mile away. ;)

  19. Pingback: Posh Frock Friday on Sunday | Noir Girl

Share your thoughts

