Tassel Keychain 101

Don't you just love these quirky images?

Ever since I saw Des’s post on Hermes inspired tassel key chains a while ago, I was determined to give her method a try.  First, I had to venture into an op-shop (translation for American friends: thrift shop.  I learned this fun term from my New Zealand bloggie friends :) ) to search out some leather pants to convert.  I was truly hoping for some exciting colors, like Hermes uses, but I only found neutral colors.  I did luck out and find two separate pairs – one in black, one in brown.  They cost me $14 total, which is quite cheap, considering a real Hermes keyring sells for £120 (almost $180!).

My brother had a whole length of key rings I could use, so I didn’t have to buy those and my glue gun has been a staple of my crafting kit for a while.

The only change I made to Des’s method was to cut my fringe narrower.  My fringe measures only about 1/8 – 1/4 inch wide.  I didn’t actually measure each one – years of sewing has made me pretty good at judging measurements. :)

Here’s my take on Des’s idea:

After trying this first one and seeing how easy it was to put together, I decided to make lots more. I kept looking at the top band and feeling that it needed something to dress it up, so I added a matching leather bow.  The bow is very simple:  just a rectangle of leather, scrunched at the middle, with another leather piece wrapped around the center to hold it together.  The center part is made by cutting a long rectangle, about 2 by 4 inches.  Fold in both the long sides 1/4 of an inch and glue down.  Then, fold the whole piece down the center along the long edge to create a long strip of edgeless leather goodness.

I even started improvising on the theme and making pom poms instead of tassels.  In a way, I think I like the pom poms better.

Well, that’s my latest crafty adventure.  Let me know what you think.  Comments and suggestions are always appreciated!  :)

6 Comments

Filed under Crafty

6 responses to “Tassel Keychain 101

  1. Clever! I like the bow one.

  2. Jen

    This is so cute!! What a clever idea, i do love the bow too :)

  3. I LOVE designer knock-offs (especially if the original is super ridiculously over-priced). This is just awesome.

  4. Andrea – Thanks!

    Jen – I’m glad you like it! The bow is a favorite of mine too!

    Lorrwill – Thanks! I was kind of worried about admitting it was an imitation of a designer, but I’m glad I did. :)

  5. Julio

    i love the pom poms!

Share your thoughts

