Vogue 2885 Jacket: Part 2

Coming to you, courtesy of a once-in-a-lifetime Homework Free Weekend:

The Vogue 2885 Jacket!

(I’m sorry about the strange lighting in these photos.  It was amazingly light when I was photographing and it washed out the color in some of them. :( )

Some of the making up instructions were a little odd, but I followed everything to the letter.  I figured that I can add my own spin the next time I make the pattern.

Let’s start with the sleeves:

Both the fashion fabric and the lining have these gathers at the inside elbow.  This is a design element I’ve never seen before.  It might be practical, since when I wear it the sleeve moves with my arm very well, or it could be purely for looks.  It’s a puzzlement.

Another puzzlement that was terribly frustrating was the fact that the lining sleeves were sewn on after the rest of the jacket had been put together.  That means by hand.  I usually use my machine to ease the sleeves into the arm holes, so sewing one on by hand was a little unthinkable.  I did it, though, I’m proud to say.  It took me forever, but I did it.  I’ll say this though – I’m not going to intentionally hand sew sleeves on ever again.  ;)

Then, the back pleat:

I love the way this turned out.  It’s one of those touches that just exemplifies the 40’s look.

And, one more look at the glorious pad-stitched collar in it’s final form:

My closure of choice:

Lovely leather buttons that are so smooth and nice.  I was considering covered buttons, but while digging around in my notions box for the forms, I saw these and knew they were perfect.  I bought them a while ago when I made my brown corduroy vest (before my bloggy days) as an option for closures, but decided on something else.  So, these beauties languished in the notions box until now.  They have happily found a home.  :)

Now- on to the pink taffeta lining:

I am totally hating these buttonholes (especially on the inside).  This is one of those quirky methods I referred to above.  I have done bound buttonholes several times before – but I’ve never seen a method as hard to accomplish as this.  The fronts were quite easy, but the inside parts involved cutting a slit above where the buttonhole was on the other side.  Then, turning the raw edge created by the slit under and slip stitching, exposing the buttonhole to the inside.  It was hard to keep smooth (you can see that it puckered a little) and it was a handful while I was trying to hand sew the opening shut.  Next time, no matter what the pattern says, I’m trying Paco’s method on buttonholes that I just found today via the amazing Tany.  I like to learn as many sewing methods as I can, so that’s why I didn’t want to just discard the pattern instructions.   However, it does burn me up a little that the method wasn’t as finished looking as the rest of the jacket.  Ugh!

On to happier adventures –  the bar tacks!

This was my first experience bar tacking and I truly enjoyed it.  (Yes, that’s my sadly red thumb with the polish down there.  My hands are all dry from the cold, so they won’t exactly be in any adverts any time soon!)  There are 10 bar tacks in the lining of this jacket and I got them done in about an hour.  They look so professional!  (Sorry for that stray little thread there – my zeal for sharing got the better of my perfectionist side!)

Back view – It has a terrific silhouette, don’t you think?  Now all I have to do is invent a special occasion so I can wear it!

Overall, I’m so happy and proud of it.  If you had told me back when I was a little girl sewing stuffed bears that I would one day be able to sew this, I wouldn’t have believed you.  Goes to show how far you can come.

I wish you all a lovely day, my friends!

23 Comments

Filed under Fashion Backward, Sewing

23 responses to “Vogue 2885 Jacket: Part 2

  1. Wow! I’m very impressed Casey. Such a stunning piece of work. In addition to the pink tafetta, I’m in love with those red leather buttons. Good job. It’s amazing what one can do with a homework break?

  2. Wow, great job! It looks lovely.

  3. Raquelle – I’m so sorry to pop your bubble, but the buttons are actually brown. A slightly darker brown than the jacket. You have given me an amazing idea, though so Thank you! Thanks for your kind compliments too! Yes, a homework break is a seriously delightful pastime. I highly recommend it! ;)

    Andrea – Thank you! It’s so much fun to wear. It makes me feel like I just stepped out of a 40’s film.

  4. Brown leather buttons are still AWESOME!!!

  5. Allison

    WOW…you did a wonderful job. It looks clean cut and professional. I have to say I also love the choice of pink tafetta. It looks to have a simple yet unique design. I do like the slit at the bottom in the back. It adds a lot! I am telling you you should do this for a job! You have major talent.

  6. Totally WOW!!! I love what you did. Very impressed!

  7. Raquelle – I’m so glad you think so!

    Allison – Thank you! I terribly happy with the pink taffeta, too. Thanks so much for your encouragement! It means a lot to have friends who believe in what you do. I’d want to get really, really good at this sewing stuff before I tried to tell people I could be paid for it. I feel like there is so much I still need to learn.

    Lisa – Thanks! I’m happy you like it. :)

  8. Casey .- Greetings from Barcelona. Firstly congratulations on the jacket. The end result is fantastic. inside jacket is a very important and you succeeded in shocking pink lining.

    thank you by name, you are very kind.

    Best wishes, Paco

  9. Paco, thank you so much for visiting! I’m honored that you think my jacket is good. I hope it’s warmer in Barcelona than it is here in the Midwest of the US!

    Thanks again,
    ck

  10. froginthepond

    I enjoy a jacket that really shines with its lining. It says something about inner detail and care for the things that perhaps only you (well, the rest of us!) know about.

    I’ve noticed elbow darts in my own vintage patterns, even for blouses. I presume that it helps with movement in fitted garments.

  11. Hi froginthepond,

    Thank you for visiting and for the comment! I’m terribly happy with the pink lining. I’m going to put a shocking lining in the next jacket I do. You’re right about sewers, though. I think that we’re a unique bunch of people. :)

    I’m going to be on the lookout for elbow darts on vintage patterns now that I know about them.

    -ck

  12. Hi, I just stumbled upon your site from Sew Retro. And O.M.G. I made this pattern up for the receptionist last year at my children’s school. I wasn’t brave enough to try those button holes, so I did the boring plain old ‘normal’ button holes and made self covered buttons. My favourite element was the back pleat of the jacket. I think the gathers on the sleeves were for wear ease. The skirt was nice to make as well.

  13. Hi Jenni,

    Thanks for visiting and commenting! I bet the receptionist has a blast wearing it now. On the button holes, I have an older machine and I hate the way it makes normal buttonholes, so I opt for bound buttonholes as often as I can. They usually work out much better for me. You’re right about the skirt. It’s very simple to make and so fun to wear. There is enough fabric to have swishing when you walk, but it’s still slim and chic.

    -ck

  14. well, i don’t think you’d have to wait for any special occasion to wear this fantastic blazer – just wear it! i’d cry if you’d just hang it into your closet and not show it off!!
    by the way, i came here through sew retro, and i really like your blog!

  15. Hi froken lila!

    Thanks for visiting and commenting! Well, I can’t bear the idea of making anyone cry, so I promise, I will wear it “just because.” I’ve got it hanging in a place of honor where I can see it all the time, so it hasn’t been hidden away. :)

    -ck

  16. Sam

    Oh, wow, it’s gorgeous!

  17. The gathers at the sleeves are a tailoring detail so that the sleeve fits the curvature of the arm better. Contemporary tailored jackets either have a dart or incorporate the curve into a two pieced sleeve. I absolutely love the gathers because you don’t see that anymore on jackets – but then again, I am a vintage addict.

    Can I have this jacket when you get bored with it, plz?

  18. Hi Sam! – Thanks! Thanks for visiting and commenting too!

    Hi Lorrwill! – Thanks for explaining about the gathered sleeves. I know what you mean about contemporary sleeves incorporating that curve. I don’t know why I never realized that before. I adore the gathers too! :)

  19. Love Love Love this outfit! So classy!

  20. Thanks Ashley! :)

    -ck

  21. The jacket is MAGNIFICENT!!! I am very impressed!

  22. Oh, thank you Tany! *blush* I’m terribly honored that you think so!

    -ck

  23. Pingback: Inspiration Board | Noir Girl

Share your thoughts

