Fashion Backward: Veronica

Darling Veronica is finally finished.  There is also a small matching zip-top purse for maximum organizational purposes.  Just for the record, Veronica comes from this book.veronica-ensembleI had a bit of a hard time trying to come up with the proper embellishment for the front of each bag.  The original instructions called for a butterfly to be cut from leather and attached with vintage buttons, but somehow, butterflies just didn’t seem right for this bag.  I was thinking of a large velvet ribbon to echo the velvet already present, but that seemed slightly impractical and a tad boring.  In the end, I settled for 4 inch wide strips of the bag fabric (Laura Ashley, btw), top stitched 1/2 inch from the edge and fringed (pulling out the long horizontal fibers of the fabric and leaving the short vertical ones).  I folded these strips in half and then folded gathers into it and pressed it.  For the large bag, I covered the largest button I had on hand and sewed it on top of the fan.  For the small bag, I used an opaque, pearl-look button to secure the mini fan.

fan-detail

small-purse-detailVeronica has a nice shoulder strap with that glorious velvet ribbon on the outside.

full-viewJust one more photo, I promise!  I attached a Fleur-de-Lis charm to the zipper on the small purse.  I always notice the large zipper pulls on vintage bags and I think they’re so lovely.

charm-detail

I had a lot of fun making Veronica and I hope my friend enjoys showing off with her!

Look for a Sweater Refashion a lá Barbara Stanwyck soon!

Happy New Year to everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under Fashion Backward, Sewing

4 responses to “Fashion Backward: Veronica

  1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love these sunny bags- the fan is a lovely idea and perfect for the look and the ribbon texture and colour works so well with the gorgeous LA fabric. Lovely, lovely.

    Happy New Year to you – I’ll be back to see some more of your great work! ;o) Judy

  2. Hi Judy!

    Thank you for your very kind compliments! They mean a lot to me because your bags are so beautiful and eye-catching. Thanks for visiting!

    Happy New Year!

    ck

  3. Allison

    Wow, I feel really special. You did such a wonderful job on the purse set. I love it, and can’t wait til spring comes and I can carry it. You did an awesome job.

  4. :) Thanks, Allison! I’m so happy you like it!
    -ck

Share your thoughts

