A DFJ Bonanza

dfj_4

Well, if you are a DFJ fan like me, rejoice! We have hit quite the little motherlode of films starting tonight on TCM. TCM rarely plays a DFJ film, let alone this many at once. Four of his early 30s films are being shown this month. What a splendid way to begin the new year!

January 3 @ 3.45am – Show of Shows (1929)

January 3 @ 6am – Loose Ankles (1930)

January 3 @ 7.15am – I Like Your Nerve (1931)

January 11 @ 6am – Love is a Racket (1932)

The only one I have not seen is Show of Shows and it looks like DFJ only has a passing acquaintance with that film. It has been some years since I saw the others though, so I am relishing the chance to see them with fresh eyes. Have a watch and come back to let me know which was your favorite!

9 Comments

Filed under Classic Movies

9 responses to “A DFJ Bonanza

  1. Casey, I’ll admit I’ve heard a lot about Douglas Fairbanks Jr., but this will be the first time I’ve had the opportunity to see him in action, so to speak! Looking forward to checking it out!

  2. Casey–

    Thanks so much for the recommendations!

  3. Sigh… they just don’t make them like DFJ any more. I’d like to think he never would have sold out and done mind numbingly lame perfume commercials like Brad the Pitts recently did.

  4. I’m so happy about all of these films (have them saved on capture card or scheduled to record). I watched The Rage of Paris last year and now I can’t get enough of Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. I think he was sooo adorable!

  5. Oooh, Dorian you’ve never seen a Douglas Fairbanks Jr film before? What a treat you are in for! I’m a big fan of his easy going character and innate cultured (almost British) manner. Plus, he’s devastatingly handsome. If you need recommendations on which of his films to watch, I’m always ready to put in my two cents!
    ~Casey

  6. Happy to help, Jill!

    ~Casey

  7. So true, Jeanne. I find it impossible to believe he would have agreed to lend his talents to a worthless commercial. DFJ actually had accomplishments in his life, unlike so many of our modern stars. I wish I could go back in time and at least get to enjoy his company for a little while!

    ~Casey

  8. Ooh, Lauren! Rage in Paris is one of my new favorites too! So glad you appreciate his gorgeousness. ;)

    ~Casey

  9. Hannah

    I’ve been a huge fan of Douglas Fairbanks Jr since 2007 when I saw The Life of Jimmy Dolan. I finally got to see I Like Your Nerve a few weeks ago and I loved his scenes in the beginning with Loretta Young! Douglas is just perfect!

Share your thoughts

