Huzzah Squad: The Plan

First, I’d like to offer a great big Thank You to all the bloggers who have volunteered to participate in the Huzzah Squad! You guys are absolutely super!

Here are our participants so far:

  1. Millie
  2. Addie
  3. Mercurie
  4. Audrey
  5. Matthew
  6. Jenny
  7. KC
  8. Me! (Casey)
  9. Emily
  10. Niamhy
  11. Sarah

It is not too late to jump on the bandwagon, just jot me a comment and I’ll add your name to the list!

We shall begin by each choosing a star for our first tribute. Here is a list of stars to choose from, if you need ideas. Then we need to establish the order the posts will be published (on our own blogs, or I’ll post them here for those without a blog). You guys can pick your own place in the publishing lineup, so if you covet being first, call it fast!

I am working on a logo for us to use in the posts and a button for each of us to post in our sidebars (of course you do not have to use either, but it’ll be here soon for those who would like it).

Also – I have an idea to publicize the series. What do you guys think of a special twitter feed created just to tweet these posts?

(If you are completely lost and have no idea what any of this is, read this post. All will become clear.)

****2/16/11 Update****

Tribute List:

  • Turhan Bey (Matthew)
  • Richard Beymer (Sarah)
  • Honor Blackman (Millie)
  • Michael Caine (Niamhy)
  • Michael Callan (Millie)
  • Claudia Cardinale (KC)
  • Diahann Carroll (Casey)
  • Sean Connery (Niamhy)
  • Tim Conway (Millie)
  • Peggy Cummins (Matthew)
  • Olivia de Havilland (Audrey)
  • Bradford Dillman (Millie)
  • Deanna Durbin (Millie)
  • Richard Erdman (Addie)
  • Peter Falk (Millie)
  • Joan Fontaine (Emily)
  • Steve Forrest (Emily)
  • Coleen Gray (KC)
  • Marsha Hunt (Casey)
  • Anne Jeffreys (Casey)
  • Carla Laemmle (Matthew)
  • Angela Lansbury (Casey)
  • Joan Leslie (Emily)
  • Dorothy Malone (KC)
  • Maureen O’Hara (Emily)
  • Eleanor Parker (Addie)
  • Nova Pilbeam (Matthew)
  • Jane Powell (Casey)
  • Ann Rutherford (Emily)
  • Eva Marie Saint (Emily)
  • Lizabeth Scott (Addie)
  • Phyllis Thaxter (Addie)
  • Esther Williams (KC)
14 Comments

Filed under Film Bloggers, Huzzah Squad

14 responses to “Huzzah Squad: The Plan

  1. Is it okay if I put my greasy dabs on Turhan Bey, Nova Pilbeam and Peggy Cummins?
    Oh, and Googie Withers too?
    But also start with one who isn’t on the list: hundred-year-old Carla Laemmle?
    I’ll happily step aside if somebody else wanted to do any of them: I appreciate bagging five with one shot is bad sportsmanship.
    Can’t wait to see the logo and button: will happily use both. How exciting!

  2. I have no problem with you writing about all five people Matthew! I’m thrilled with your enthusiasm!

  3. OKAY. YESSSS. Can I reserve Bradford Dillman, Honor Blackman, Deanna Durbin, Michael Callan, Tim Conway, and Peter Falk? I mean, if someone REALLY wants one of them…I SUPPPPOSE…..;-D

    This is going to be SOOO awesome!

  4. addie

    My plan was to support other people’s blogs with my podcast, not write any tributes, however——Eleanor Parker and Lizabeth Scott are two of my all time favorites! I do not have to write about them, but it would not break my heart.
    Also Richard Erdman (he is not on the list yet) and Phyllis Thaxter would not kill me, to cover.
    addie

    Casey, you absolutely Rock! I mean you did anyway, but this idea is so great!
    Thanks!

  5. I’d like to participate too!!! I would like Joan Fontaine, Steve Forrest, Ann Rutherford, Eleanor Parker, Maureen O’Hara, and Lizabeth Scott. Also, if no one wants Barbara Kent, I would love to do her too. Yay!! So excited!!! :)

  6. I was writing my comment when Addie posed. I can switch out the two she’d like for Joan Leslie and Eva Marie Saint.

  7. Marvelous, guys! :D I better hurry up and pick my people! I call Jane Powell, Anne Jeffreys, Angela Lansbury, Diahann Carroll and Marsha Hunt.

    Addie – Could you post a link of your blog for me? I’ve lost my bookmark!

  8. count me in for Richard<3

  9. I want Michael Caine. ;-P
    I’m open to anyone who’s free. Just as long as I have Michael. ;-P Oh. And Sean Connery. ;-P
    Who already got their hands on Maureen O’Hara?! ;-P Haha!

  10. I’ll do Olivia de Havilland! Also, I must not have had my website linked the last time I posted. My blog url is: http://fedorasandhighheels.blogspot.com

    P.S. Addie, what podcast do you do? Is it on classic film? If so, I would love to listen!

  11. Thanks, Audrey! I added your link above. Olivia is yours!

  12. KC

    Wow, that list needs to be updated. Did you notice how many of the people on it had passed recently? Anyway, I’d like to write about Claudia Cardinale, Coleen Gray, Dorothy Malone and Esther Williams. I don’t think any of these have been claimed!

  13. Thanks for the heads-up about the list, KC. I only glanced at it quickly – I should’ve looked closer! I’ll add a list of the claimed stars at the end of the post above now that we have so many participants!

Share your thoughts

